Catching Up

Lack of recent blog posts aside, this has been a busy couple of weeks. Speaking of blog posts, I actually do have four drafts for upcoming posts that I’m working on right now, so look for a bit more activity here in the coming days. In the meantime, I’m spending a quiet day when it’s too hot outside to shoot to catch up on some work.

A few things have happened lately photo-wise in my life. Probably the biggest thing is that I’ve started using Photoshop Elements. I’ve never felt much need for a big piece of photo software, mostly because my style is very natural and I really do very little in the way of software-assisted editing. My digital darkroom time for most photographs – even fine art prints – usually runs 20-45 minutes. The biggest reason I decided to get Elements, though, is that it will help me better utilize RAW files and to more easily work with some of the great templates I’ve acquired over the years – and I think both of these will be real boosts to my portrait business.

I just wrote a couple paragraphs on a couple of new projects I’ve been working on, but then decided to delete them because they’re still in the initial stages and I feel like I’d rather wait to talk about them until I’m a little more into the process.

For those who don’t know, one thing going on in my life outside of photography right now is that my mother had surgery the first week of July to repair a torn rotator cuff (and actually do a lot more stuff to the shoulder that I could describe in medical terms but I’m blanking on their real-world translations). She’s doing great, but we’re into the heavy rehab stage now, so I’m doing a lot of driving her around lately. She feels the loss of independence pretty heavy, though, and I guarantee the minute she feels like she can drive safely I’ll be tossed to the curb (metaphorically, of course, one hopes).

The other thing going on lately that’s keeping me from my photographic work is the strong pull the last couple of weeks of another facet of my life – the one heavily (if tangentially) involved in national politics. Obviously the conventions the last two weeks have been a spectacle, and I’ll actually have more to say in this space about them from a photographic point of view. But I promise to keep this blog impartial – so as the presidential campaign begins in earnest, I’ll just say, may the best man (or woman) win.

I think that wraps things up for today. Everyone have a great weekend.

~ by David Cupp on September 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
