Some Informal Portraits

I mentioned earlier that I had to work on a few portraits. These are a set I did very informally a few days ago of a boy born just a few weeks ago to the couple whose wedding I did back in January. He is my goddaughter Ani’s cousin, and so of course we had to get one of the two of them, even if she is still in her Iron Man pajamas. (I actually feel this is somewhat appropriate – one of the formal portraits of Ani as flower girl with the bride featured Ani wearing the Iron Man mask from her Halloween costume.)

I say these portraits are informal because I used no lighting aside from on-camera flash and we didn’t do much in the way of special clothes or backdrop – he’s wearing what he had on when he dropped by the house and we used a blanket on top of his carrier to give a solid background. The effect is more a snapshot than the formal portrait I would do in a controlled studio setting. Depending on my schedule later this spring and into the summer, it will probably be a few weeks before we do that type of portrait with him, and that’s even assuming that his parents want me to.

Anyway, without further blather, let me introduce you to Baby Rob.

a

b

c

Speaking of Ani, I still haven’t done her birthday portrait… but just for fun and because I didn’t post it before, here’s her Christmas portrait.

anisnowman

This is much more formal both in composition (a 3/4 with receding backdrop) and lighting (natural afternoon). But the excited pose, the huge grin and that t-shirt make it a lot more fun, which is what I was going for since I knew she would be wearing one of her more formal dresses to have her picture taken with Santa. I fell in love with this shirt the moment I saw it (I would give you the source, but it’s no longer available) and I’m so happy that it worked on her.

~ by David Cupp on April 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
