New Portrait: My Grandmother on Her Ninetieth Birthday

A portrait decades in the making… surrounded by (in reverse order) her grandparents, parents, husband, and children.

My Grandmother on Her Ninetieth Birthday

This past weekend was a whirlwind, with a huge party, lots of immediate and extended family coming into town, and a whole lot of time spent eating and visiting and playing outside with the little ones. Aside from a not-too-formal family portrait taken as the party was wrapping up, I mostly enjoyed the weekend as a grandson rather than a photographer – though for the shots I did snap, feel free to look up the album on my personal Facebook page.

The highlight of the weekend for me was the presentation of a book I had made up for my grandmother, which included new portraits of many of the family along with a selection of photos from our family archive. (This is separate from the Echoes of My Grandmother project, which is still simmering on the backburner.) I’ll have a bit to write about the book over the next few days.

For now, though, a huge “happy birthday!” to my grandmother as she enters her tenth(!) decade.

~ by David Cupp on October 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
