Why I’m A Photographer

Because art is powerful.

Yesterday I woke to emails letting me know that Phillip Toledano’s new book is out and that Daniel Shea is having a print sale. Then I went to the post office and picked up a print from Ryan Pfluger. Then late in the evening there was a notice on Ryan’s blog of another print sale.

And all of those things made me proud to be a photographer, because whether my work is anywhere near the same league as theirs or not, we belong to the same community.

I’ve spent the last hour going through Ryan’s blog looking for which prints I’ll purchase this go-round, and it’s emotionally draining because seeing his art and reading his life’s story (that part of the story he shares online, anyway) makes me want to be a better artist and a better person.

Links to the above exciting things, each of which will receive their own richly-deserved post this weekend:

Phillip Toledano, Days With My Father

Daniel Shea Print Sale

Ryan Pfluger Print Sale

~ by David Cupp on June 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
